1. Religion & Spirituality

Ba Gua

The "Eight Symbols" or "Eight Trigrams"


From undifferentiated Unity (the Tao) comes Yin & Yang, which then further differentiate into Supreme Yang, Lesser Yang, Supreme Yin, Lesser Yin …
Ba Gua

Here, we see the eight trigrams of the Ba Gua arranged around a Yin-Yang Symbol

Elizabeth Reninger

Supreme Yang, Lesser Yang, Supreme Yin, Lesser Yin then combine in various ways to form the Ba Gua - the "Eight Symbols" or "Eight Trigrams." In the circles of this diagram are the Chinese names of each of the Trigrams. Each Trigram consists of three lines (hence the name: tri-gram), either broken (the Yin lines) or solid (the Yang lines). The Trigrams in combinations of two make up the 64 hexagrams of the I Ching (Yi Jing) – a principle scripture and divination technique of Taoism.

The ordering of the Eight Trigrams comes in two basic arrangements: the early- or pre-heaven Bagua; and the later- or post-heaven Bagua. The pre-heaven Bagua represents Heavenly influences. The post-heaven Bagua represents Earthly influences. According to Taoism, our job as humans is to align ourselves intelligently (via the principles revealed by the I Ching, and practices such as Feng Shui and Qigong) so that we can derive the greatest benefit from the Heavenly and Earthly influences.

Of Related Interest: Guide Review of EarthCalm's Scalar Resonator -- a wonderful EMF protection device. Increasingly, we live within a sea of man-made EMF's -- from our laptops, cell phones and iPads, as well as the AC electrical grids of our homes. These have disruptive and potentially quite harmful effects upon our body's acupuncture meridian system, which is the "analog nervous system" that allows our bodymind's self-healing mechanism to function properly. All of EarthCalm's excellent products offer protection from these harmful effects.

  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Taoism

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.