1. Religion & Spirituality

Taoist Visual Symbols

Gateways To Taoist Cosmology


The most well-known Taoist symbol is the Yin-Yang symbol: a circle divided into two swirling sections, one black and the other white, with a smaller circle of the opposite color nestled within each half. The Yin-Yang symbol can also be found embedded within a more complex Taoist image - called the Taiji Tu, which is a visual representation of all of Taoist cosmology. Also within the Taiji Tu we find a symbol of the interactions among the Five Elements - which produce the Ten-Thousand Things, i.e. all the "things" of our world. The Ba Gua are trigrams that represent various combinations of Yin and Yang.

The beautifully intricate diagram called the Neijing Tu maps the transformations that happen within the bodies of Inner Alchemy practitioners. The He Tu and Luo Shu are important in understanding the Eight Extraordinary Meridians - the most important meridians in Qigong practice. The Lo Pan Compass is one of the main tools of Feng Shui practitioners.


Images 1-8 of 8
Yin-Yang SymbolTaijitu ShuoFive Element ChartBa Gua
Lo Pan CompassHe Tu & Luo Shu DiagramsNei Jing TuGuodian Bamboo Strips
  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Taoism
  4. Taoist Arts & Culture
  5. Visual Symbols
  6. Taoist Symbols - Eight Important Taoist Visual Symbols

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.