1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email

Stages Of Qi Cultivation

In his book, The Healing Promise Of Qi, Roger Jahnke OMD outlines ten stages through which qigong practice typically evolves. Here we'll use this map as a structure for exploring various facets of qigong practice.

Stage One Of Qi Cultivation: Discovering Our Qi
The first step for a qigong practitioner is to discover qi - to establish a direct awareness of the presence of life-force energy within our bodymind.

Stage Two Of Qi Cultivation: Gathering Qi
In stage two of qi cultivation we learn how to gather qi as nourishment for our bodymind.

Stage Three Of Qi Cultivation: Circulating Our Qi
In stage three of the "ten stages of qi cultivation" we learn how to circulate qi.

Stage Four Of Qi Cultivation: Purifying Qi
In stage four of the "ten stages of qi cultivation" we learn to purify our qi.

Stage Five Of Qi Cultivation – Directing Qi
When our body is healthy, it has the capacity to heal itself. When dis-ease is more extreme, we can consciously direct qi to reestablish health and harmony

Stage Six Of Qi Cultivation: Conserving Our Qi
Like money in a savings account, it's important to learn how to conserve our qi, in order to accumulate a surplus of this life-force energy.

Stage Seven & Eight Of Qi Cultivation: Storing & Transformin Qi
Stages seven and eight of the ten stages of qi cultivation focus on the unfolding of our deepest spiritual potentials.

Stage Nine & Ten Of Qi Cultivation: Dissolving & Transmitting Qi
In stage nine and ten, we reach the culmination of our qi-cultivation journey. We are open full to the flow of Universal qi, and can now be of service to our fellow humans.

Qi Emission (Fa Gong) & Distance Qigong Healing
What is qigong healing? (Also known as Fa Gong, qi-emission, energy-healing & distance-healing)

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.